Trump Administration Expands Travel Bans to Six Additional Countries 

On January 31, 2020, President Trump signed a Presidential Proclamation that expands the current travel ban to include certain nationals from Burma (Myanmar), Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Nigeria, Sudan, and Tanzania. The Proclamation is due to go into effect on February 21, 2020.

Nationals of Burma (Myanmar), Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, and Nigeria, with some exceptions, will be barred from entering the U.S. as immigrants.  With respect to Sudan and Tanzania, the ban applies only to immigrants under the Diversity (“green card”) Lottery. Immigrants refers to those who are seeking admission to the U.S. on a permanent basis through family, employment or through the Diversity Lottery program.

The expanded travel ban does not apply to nonimmigrants, such as business visitors, tourists, students, exchange visitors, or temporary workers (e.g. H or L visa holders) from these countries.

The expanded ban applies to persons who are outside the U.S. on the effective date and who do not already have a valid U.S. immigrant visa that was issued before February 21, 2020.

Please contact our office if you have any questions.